A poem about death

image

    Death… It came and will come for each and everyone. Death comes to young and old. It comes to the sick and the healthy. It comes to the tall and short, the big and small, the light skin and dark skin people. It comes in a million ways. It happens everyday, every hour and every second. To loved ones and strangers. We can not escape death. It will come to us either today, tomorrow or in the long run. Eventually, it will be our time as well as those who have already left us. We have to learn to accept this hurtful reality. Yes we will always miss our loved ones. Yes it will always hurt but today it was them and tomorrow it could be us.

    Today with tears in my eyes, I ask each and everyone of you to live life one day at a time. Let’s be happy and tell our loved ones how much we love them. Don’t wait till they’re gone. For goodness sake, we have to let go of our ego and pride. Oh, you’re  mad with a loved one because they did you wrong? What if you get a phone call telling you that they passed away? It’s not the time to be against each other. Where is the love that many preach and desire? Why wait till death to buy someone flowers? Why wait till death?

    I know it’s not easy when our loved ones pass away it hurts so much to think we have to live without them, without hearing their voice and hugging them but they are now at rest. My question is, what about with the ones that are left? What are we doing to make them know they are loved and valued? For goodness sake, some days when I am all by myself and alone, I just wish someone could hug me tight and tell me how much they love me but all I got is walls that surround me in my dark and lonely times. My heart and soul scream out to God and yet I feel so unwanted in a world full of hate and death. I know I’m not the only one who feels like this. Don’t confuse and get me wrong, I have a few family and friends near by that help and cheer me up. My children, as well, are the ones who motivate me on a daily to not give up and their love for me brightens up my day but they’re still young and don’t understand many things us adults have to deal with everyday.

    I truly believe that all loved ones need each other and yet no one ever admits it, until a loved one passes away. I will forever miss my grandmother, but she is in a better place. Now all we have is each other as the family we are until God and death calls us one by one as well.

    To all my loved ones, I love you all and I say it with my most sincere heart and whoever else is reading this, know you have a purpose in this life. Despite the fact that we feel heartbroken and alone at times, God is there to fill our emptiness with peace and joy.

~Rest In Peace Grandma~

nay29

2 thoughts on “A poem about death

Leave a comment